Other Metagames [AG] Old Faithful (Peaked #1)

Pigeons

pidge pidge
is a Tiering Contributoris a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Battle Simulator Staff Alumnus

Introduction

I'm alive guys! Since I've been very inactive for nearly a month now, I figured there was no better way to celebrate than making a RMT of the team I've been using for the past 6 months now. If you've faced me at all on ladder or in tournaments, you've likely seen this team before. I first built it during the first round of the Core Laddering Challenge, and since then it has proven to be very consistent both on ladder and in tournaments. While you're reading this, do give a listen to this song from NEVERMORE the musical, which I had the pleasure of working on for the past month with my school's theatre company.

Teambuilding Process

The team began with a core of Mega Gengar and Calm Mind+Iron Defense Arceus-Dark. This was a core I and a few others had experimented with in Gen 6, the idea is that Mega Gengar eliminates the fairies that would check Darkceus so that it can sweep. Even though it was decent in Gen 6, it looked even more promising in Gen 7 given the introduction of threats such as Lunala and Solgaleo that Arceus-Dark could perform well against, as well as the buffing of other things it could check such as Arceus-Ghost and Deoxys-Attack. This combined with the buff from new Mega evolution speed mechanics that Mega Gengar received made me think this core would be a solid choice for the new generation.