Monotype Monotype Normal | Trick Room Team

Introduction
Almost a year ago, I started playing Pokemon Showdown. I was into OU, and was proud of myself for doing okay in the ladder. Yet, when it came to tournaments in the OU Chat Room, I was eliminated first, every single time. So, I got off for a little while.

When I came back on, that's when I got into Monotype. I started experimenting with the different types, eventually coming to using a Dark Monotype Team off of Sample Teams. I had finally found my favorite type, and it used my favorite Pokemon, Umbreon. I was doing semi successful in the ladder, and I actually got a little bit further in the Tournament. Yet, I didn't like how I was using someone else's team that they created, and the fact that people who look at Sample Teams know exactly the moves, items, effort values, individual values, etc. So, I started creating my own teams.

At first, I wasn't very successful. I would look at teams, tweak them just a little, and then battle. And most likely lose. So, I got off of Pokemon Showdown again. Recently, I got back on and played some Monotype with my old teams. As I was battling, I noticed someone on the Monotype Chat complaining that Monotype Normal Teams are always the same. Chansey and Porygon2 for defense, then Staraptor, Diggersby and Mega Lopunny for offense, and then one Pokemon for whatever.

I was really struck by this. Normal types are known to have a wide move pool. Take Drampa for example. You have Blizzard, Draco Meteor/Dragon Pulse, Energy Ball, Extrasensory, and so much more. So, how come Normal Monotype's have these five Pokemon every time? I wanted to change this. I wanted to create a team that was interesting, fresh, and of course, viable in competitive play. I think I nailed the interesting and fresh part, but I still need some help in viability.

Team Building Process