Not open for further replies.
Hey guys.. so I'm running
Garchompite
Jolly with 252atk /252 speed / 6 hp
Outrage
EQ
Sword dance
Stone edge

Im pretty amazed by it because I was able to outrun some dragon type and other pkmns

But I was wndering if I should fix something in my garchomp? Well I'm pretty new in the game

In my opinion, SD Garchomp is mediocre at best in this gen, especially the SD M-Garchomp.
It is simply too slow to be an actual sweeper.
As a wall breaker, however, it is amazing. The mixed M-Garchomp is the one I like to run.
As long as you stray away from the idea of garchomp being a sweeper but a wall breaker, garchomp seems like a top-tier pokemon. While it is true that garchomp cannot hold life orb or leftover for his wall breaker set (mega), unlike Kyurem-B, I prefer garchomp over Kyube for most situations. The ice typing is something that I just cannot stand defensively, even in the current meta where stealth rock isn't as prevalent as before.
I've only been dwelling between 2200 and 2300 so I'm no expert. But that was my personal input.

On a side note, I really wished garchomp had gotten dragon dance, rock polish/agility, and/or extremespeed. I understand getting any of those might have made garchomp overpowered :P

Edit: I am not saying garchomp is bad. I am simply saying SD Garchomp as a sweeper is mediocre at best. With a huge speed creep, along with the abundance of priority coming off of powerful pokemons, it's not very good. The mixed sweeper set with the mega form, however, is the best wall breaker of the current meta in my honest opinion.

Last edited:
In my opinion, SD Garchomp is mediocre at best in this gen, especially the SD M-Garchomp.
It is simply too slow to be an actual sweeper.