Social What were you doing 10 years ago?

ScraftyIsTheBest

On to new Horizons!
is a Top Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnus
10 years ago I was in my freshman year of high school, in the latter half that is. In the good ol' year of 2013 I graduated middle school and started high school. I was also in the midst of the hype period for Pokemon X and Y, the beginning of the 3D era of Pokemon, and all the new things that came out of it like the new mons, Fairy-type, and Mega Evolution. It was such a hype time to be into Pokémon back then.

Those were definitely some good times :).

my clearest memory from a decade ago was around 2013 when Pokémon XY released, I somehow roped my late grandfather into playing and beating the whole thing! was so proud of him, he picked up on core mechanics like weaknesses n held/usable items stuff surprisingly well but i still had to teach him about stuffs like evolutionary stones/specific evolutionary conditions (sligoo --> goodra)
I remember he ended up beating it with a team of Chesnaught, Aegislash, Charizard, Toxicroak, Goodra n Umbreon but i forget what he nicknamed them
miss him more and more every day

not being mopey but this time 2013 was in between 2 big funeral from the fam and "best friend aka second family" sense.
didnt feel it so much then cus me and my friend (who's mom [a second mom to me] was lost) fell into hanging out a lot more even though we always did he handled it incredibly well i'll give him that (and he's happy now) but was good times off the back of bad times.
i remember doing a madden franchise rebuild of i wanna say the rams or raiders with him - joint gm decisions, each of us get to play a game then next one up (use to tease him for always throwing INTs, but somehow still winning - one game he threw 9[!!!!] and won. I was def the better "Clean player" but he had that chaotic/unphased ball down lolol.)