Pinsir

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sorry about the title, it isn't working. Also sorry if I mess up the formatting, it's my first time :)

Pros:
Amazing power unboosted, ridiculous power after setup
Very good physical bulk
Almost perfect coverage with two moves
Good resistances to use
Powerful priority
Good abilities pre-mega
Great ability as mega

Cons:
Fairly low special bulk
Weak to common special moves
The pokemon it fares worst against are incredibly common
Stealth rock weakness, becomes 4x after mega evo, making it difficult to use early game

Swords Dance
#########
Swords dance
Return
Quick attack
Earthquake
Ability: hyper cutter/mold breaker/moxie -----> aerilate
252 atk, 252 spe, 4 hp? ( not sure about sr number)
Jolly

Moves
Swords dance is a great boosting move that puts it attack through the roof
Return is a powerful stab that can ohko nearly every non resist after an sd,and even some resists
Quick attack is powerful priority, kos most genesect after rocks + 1 spike
Earthquake gives it coverage on every type that resists ground, leaving its coverage only resisted by things immune to ground and resist flying, like skarmory

Set details
Three usable abilities pre-mega
Moxie allows it to get to +3 in some scenarios, important for things like full health genesect
Hyper cutter lets it ignore intimidate users, which is useful, although they all die to +1 return
Mold breaker lets it beat rotom wash at plus 2 (and bronzong I guess)

Usage tips
Try not to use it until you think it can sweep or you really have to, it is weak to sr, and becomes weaker after the mega evo
If your premega ability is going to help, feel free to stay as regular pinsir! however your speed is much lower, so watch out for that
Many talonflames are slower, and a +2 quick attack ohkoes after rocks, but only do that in a time of desperation as it is quite risky