The Witnesses: An OU RMT

The Witnesses: An OU RMT by Witness315

Introduction
Hello everyone, welcome to my first RMT. I can usually be found on the Smogon forums here, rating teams, or posting in Stark. After lurking on Smogon for two months, reading what seemed like hundreds of RMT's and dozens of great warstories, I decided to download Shoddy Battle about two weeks ago and give it a swing. I had a blast testing teams and laddering. I am still learning the game, and I hope I can get better. After playing with my first team for a while, it was getting sort of old, and I felt that it wasn't performing well. So I decided to make a new team, way better than my first.​

The Strategy
This team is built around Subsititute Calm Mind Raikou. Raikou is an awesome Pokemon to use, and after a Calm Mind or two it has ripped through entire teams. The goal is to eliminate any of Raikou's counters, such as Blissey and the uncommon Lanturn, to allow Raikou to safely set up and sweep. Supported with Rapid Spin support and a status absorber, nothing really stops Raikou.​

Team at a Glance

In Depth Analysis

The Lead

Swampert@ Leftovers
Torrent
Relaxed nature (+Defense, -Speed)
240 HP/216 Defense/52 Attack​

Earthquake
Ice Beam
Stealth Rock
Roar​

Swampert is a fantastic lead. With amazing defenses and an excellent way to lay down Stealth Rock and scout. With Ice Beam and Earthquake, it forms the formidable Ground-Ice attacking combination resisted only by Bronzong in OU. The EV's distributed I switched the EV's from Special Attack to Attack because I learned those EV's were to OHKO Garchomp. This gives Swampert more power behind its STAB Earthquake.​

Moveset​

Earthquake: STAB move that provides excellent type coverage. It picks takes Jirachi, Metagross and Infernape leads down easily.​

Ice Beam: A nice coverage move. It hits Grass type switch ins and wrecks the Dragons. It takes care of Aerodactyl and Ninjask leads.​

Stealth Rock: No description needed.​