VGC [VGC18] RMT! Grim Fantasy

Introduction

This team was built around a core of Hydreigon-Lucario-(Mega)Gardevoir, giving solid type coverage backed up by the pairing of Politoed-Ludicolo, with Nihilego pulling up the rear to help keep Tapus in check. I've played some 20 or 30 matches in Showdown and it's performed pretty solid: my major defeats have mostly been bad plays or poor prediction on my part or just bad RNG (getting frozen, missing crucial attacks, etc). It still feels rough, though. I'm pretty new to the competition scene and don't have much experience with double battles regardless, so I'm hoping someone with more experience can help me polish my team.

Teambuilding Process

This is where I started, this was my chosen Core. I wanted as much variety and coverage as possible here and to do that I decided to mix the Fantasy core and the FDP core. The three of them have so far proven to be important and powerful enough that at usually two and sometimes all three have been included in every match.

These two were my next additions, following a solid meta pairing. I had seen the two in use together in a lot of videos and streams, and quite a few guides and articles strongly recommended them, so I decided to play along and haven't regretted it. I frequently lead with Politoed and Hydreigon, pop Tail Wind and switch Poli for Ludi so the latter has an even greater speed advantage.

A lot of pokemon filled the last slot before I settled on Nihilego, but after his predecessors kept getting stomped by Tapus I decided I needed a stronger way to keep Fairies in check, and he fills the roles nicely.

The Team

Hydreigon @ Dragonium Z
Ability: Levitate
EVs: 252 SpA / 4 SpD / 252 Spe
Timid Nature
IVs: 0 Atk
- Draco Meteor
- Dark Pulse
- Tailwind
- Protect